DWI Concealed Handgun & Licenses, Austin DWI Texas Attorney
KEN GIBSON
Attorney At Law
DWI CRIMINAL DEFENSE TRIAL ATTORNEY



Arrested for Drunk Driving?
DWI / DUI
24 / 7
Jail Release

512- 469-6056



Choosing the
Right Lawyer


Texas DWI laws
are both political
and complex.
Know Your Rights!




Ten Mistakes 

How to avoid 10 of the biggest mistakes most people make after being arrested for Drunk Driving.
DWI / DUI




Police Mistakes

Mistakes the police make . . . and how they can help you.



What Happens Next After A DWI Arrest?
 
There are usually both Motor Vehicle & Court Proceedings required when a DWI or Drunk Driving citation has been issued.




 

DWI and Concealed Handgun Licenses


DWI and Concealed Handgun Licenses

The Texas Government Code Section GC 411.172, spells out who is and who is not eligible for a Concealed Handgun License. There are restrictions and rules for those who have been convicted of a DWI. Below you will find the eligibility requirements and limitations.

In order to be eligible for a concealed handgun license, you must be a resident of Texas for at least 6 months, be at least 21 years of age and not a convicted felon. At the time of the application, you cannot be charged with the commission of a Class A or Class B Misdemeanor, such as a DWI, or offense under Section 42.01, Penal Code or a felony under information or indictment. Furthermore, a person can not be considered chemically dependant and can not in the past 5 years preceding the date of the application have been CONVICTED of a Class A or Class B Misdemeanor. Further, if a person has been convicted 2 (two) times within the 10 year period preceding the date on which a person applies for this concealed handgun license of a Class B Misdemeanor or greater that involves the use of alcohol or controlled substance as a element of the offense, such as DWI, the person is not eligible for a concealed gun license under this subchapter at all. Also, if a person is deemed chemically dependant, whether evidenced by a conviction or other evidence, they may also be disqualified from obtaining a concealed handgun license.

What can seem like 'just a DWI,' can have long lasting ramifications.





KEN GIBSON

DWI Criminal Defense Trial Attorney
812 San Antonio St., Suite 100
Austin, TX 78701
 



(512) 469-6056 

Or Call Toll Free
(866) 469-6056



 
Ken Gibson criminal defense trial attorney in Austin, Texas handling Drunk Driving (DWI) and Driving Under The Influence (DUI) in the state of Texas. Travis County, Williamson County, Hays County and Bastrop County. Austin, Georgetown, Manor, Round Rock, Pflugerville, Del Valle, Cedar Park, San Marcos, Bastrop.


 

Free Consultation    Payment Plans Available   Major Credit Cards Accepted
 
  Reproduction of any material on this site without written permission is strictly prohibited.
' Copyright 2013   Ken Gibson Attorney and Counselor at Law.  All Rights Reserved.