Arrested for Drunk Driving?
DWI / DUI
24 / 7
Texas DWI laws
are both political
Know Your Rights!
How to avoid 10 of the biggest mistakes most people make after being arrested for Drunk Driving.
DWI / DUI
Mistakes the police make . . . and how they can help you.
What Happens Next After A DWI Arrest?
There are usually both Motor Vehicle & Court Proceedings required when a DWI or Drunk Driving citation has been issued.
A Summary of Texas Administrative License Suspension Laws DWI and "Administrative License Revocation" in the State of Texas
for your Texas
Please Read This
Information On DWI In Texas?
A DWI Can
& Travel Plans
Texas Occupational License
What is an occupational license?
An occupational license is a special restricted license
issued to persons whose license has been suspended or
revoked for certain offenses (other than medical reasons
or delinquent child support). An occupational license
authorizes the operation of a non-commercial motor vehicle
in connection with a person's occupation, for educational
purposes or in the performance of essential household
duties. Requests for such licenses are made to the county
or district court in the county of the licensee's
residence or to the court of original jurisdiction where
the offense occurred.
Texas Transportation Code Section
Texas Administrative Code 15.7.
Is the court order the occupational license?
No, this is the order granting the occupational license.
The court order and all other required items need to be
submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)
so an occupational license can be issued. The court order
may be used as a license for 30 days from the date of the
judge's signature while DPS processes the occupational
Can you drive a commercial motor vehicle with an
No, if a person's driver license or privilege is
suspended, revoked, cancelled, or denied under any law in
this state, the person may not be granted an occupational
or essential need license to operate a commercial motor
vehicle. Texas Transportation Code 522.086, Texas
Transportation Code 522.089.
What are the requirements for the occupational license?
The certified copy of the petition and a certified copy of
the court order granting the occupational license.
An original pink SR-22 certificate of insurance. This is
the only proof of insurance acceptable.
An occupational license fee for a one-year license or
less. The maximum length of issuance is a 2-year license,
provided that the court order grants this length of time.
A statutory reinstatement fee for the Safety
Responsibility suspension, if required.
A statutory reinstatement fee for the Driver Improvement
suspension, if required.
A statutory reinstatement fee for the Administrative
License Revocation (ALR), if required.
(All required reinstatement fee(s) must be paid prior to
the issuance of the occupational license. 37 Texas
Administrative Code 15.7)
Criminal Defense Lawyer
812 San Antonio St., Suite 100
Austin, TX 78701
Or Call Toll Free